Why I (nearly) stopped drinking coffee

 
It is consumed by a lot of people at any time, for most of us it is part of our daily routine. Coffee is one of the most loved beverage in the world, that’s for sure.

Personally, I do like coffee and somehow this is linked to my cultural (how could an italian dislike coffee? :D) and family traditions. My mum prepares coffee every single morning – Imagine the smell of coffee coming right into the room and gently awakes you. Lovely!

But since I went vegan, I drink less coffee. I was used to drink a LOT of coffee: early in the morning, around 10am and in the afternoon again. I was addicted. I bet you are wondering why drinking coffee and being vegan at the same time should be a problem? Let me explain you quickly. First of all, I am anemic and coffee compromises greatly the iron absorption. Now, there are two types of iron: heme and non-heme. The iron in meat is in the heme form while the non-heme is found in plant foods. Researches have shown that coffee seems to affect especially the absorption of the non-heme type. As vegan the only source of iron comes from plant-based food! 

However, no decrease in iron absorption occurred when coffee is consumed 1 h before a meal (The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 1983). A mid-morning coffee won’t be that bad, after all. 

So, evidence reveals I should quit caffeine. But, let’s be honest – I don’t avoid coffee completely. I like it! I simply have a cup of coffe now and then. I don’t want to restrict myself, I think it’s better have a little satisfaction once in a while. Anyway, I take iron supplements. That helps! 🙂

To finish I will share with you my little “vice”; a delicious, quick and easy banana coffee smoothie bowl to prepare in the morning.

INGREDIENTS
3 bananas
Natural vanilla flavor
1 tsp instant coffee
Water (optional)

Pour the bananas and vanilla flavour (as much as you desire) in a blender and blend till combined (add water if you prefer the smoothie less thick). Garnish on top with a tsp of instant coffee and mix gently. Enjoy!

References
http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/37/3/416.abstract
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/30/health/30real.html?_r=0
http://whfoods.org/genpage.php?tname=dailytip&dbid=34

Rispondi

